Nursing School: Everyday Is Another Day Closer To Living Out My Dream

images

 

For as long as I can remember, I’ve always wanted to be a nurse. The idea of taking care of others who are sick and in need just feels so right to me. Being a nurse is a tradition for the women in my family, which was also a motivation for me too. Every generation in my family has had at least one woman who worked as a professional nurse. So, you could technically say that its in my blood.

Currently, I work as a nurses aide at Novant Presbyterian. I have learned a lot and have gained many experiences, some beautiful and happy, and others that are sad, humbling, and put life into perspective. I work in the Women’s Center of the hospital, and I get to work with women of all ages, backgrounds and health histories. I work between 5 units. The first unit I started working on was General Women’s Health, which is anything from hysterectomies and breast cancers, to miscarriages. It is a very tough unit to work on at times, but it allows me to learn coping skills and how to really provide patient care and be as selfless as possible in order to really help people who are going through a tough emotional time. The other units I work on are Special Maternity, Labor and Delivery, Mother Baby, and NICU. I have to say that Labor and Delivery is my all time favorite unit because I get to witness and help in the process of bringing a beautiful baby into this world. It brings me so much joy to be there for such an amazing moment of each families lives.

Through my work, I have gained lots of experience and knowledge that has lead me to believe at this point in time, that I would like to become an Labor and Delivery nurse. I know that I have a lot to learn between now and 2018 when I graduate, but this is the goal job that I have set for myself right now.

Working in healthcare has definitely brought my closer to my faith. I know that we are not in control of our fates, and that God has a plan for each and everyone of us. I feel that it is absolutely my calling in this world to help teach and care for those who are in need, and to help bring new beautiful life into this world.

I am so lucky that my mother is a nurse. She helps guide me through school and makes sure that I am in the right mind set so that I don’t succumb to stress and anxiety like so many of my classmates do. So far I have shown great success in nursing school and absolutely plan on continuing that. I am confident in my ability to make it through my program with a smile on my face the entire way, and if I continue to have the attitude, organization, dedication, and confidence that I do now, I think I will do just fine.

If you’ve made it this far through my diatribe, you are awesome! Thank you so much for reading!

xoxo

Isabelle

 

Leave a comment